Physics is one of the subjects that form the foundation of our understanding of nature. Any physical object or process, or even the entire universe can be the subject of Physics. Physicists therefore, study a very wide range of systems, from the smallest particles to the most complex processes found in biological cells or in the environment. The Department of Physics aims at building capacity in Physics, through regular lectures, tutorials, laboratory training and field trips, that is directly useful in disciplines such as Medicine, environmental, geological and biological sciences, climate change and cutting edge technologies. In addition, capacity is also built in the traditional areas of interest to the Physicist; which are: teaching and research. The department of Physics is a structured to offer training to prospective students both at the undergraduate and post graduate levels. Training is offered in the form of regular lectures, tutorials, laboratory practice, field trips and internships. At the undergraduate level, we run a three years Bachelors of Science degree programme in Physics. In addition each student has a variety of minors from which they can choose one. The minors currently running are: Computer Science, Environmental Physics, Medical Physics and Renewable Energy. Out of 180 credits of courses a student is required to validate in order to earn the B.Sc. degree in Physics, 24 credits are obtained from the minor courses of choice. The Department also offers a two years Master of Science degree in Physics with areas of specialisation in: Applied Physics, Electronics and Communications, Geophysics, Medical Physics, Renewable Energy and Theoretical Physics. Out of 120 credits to be earned in the course of the M.Sc, programme, 30 credits are earned in the area of specialisation. The structure of the PhD programme in Physics is similar to that of the M.Sc degree in Physics. The PhD programme in Physics runs for a minimum of three years and a maximum of 05 years. The PhD programme offers students with a wide range of specialisations in: Geophysics, Material Science, Nonlinear Science, Renewable Energy Physics, Statistical physics and Complex systems and Theoretical Physics. Each student is required to earn 24 credits from the specialization courses, 120 credits are allocated to the PhD Research and defence and the remaining 36 credits are obtained from a group of compulsory courses. The training is strengthened by laboratory practice. Internships and field trips are also an integral part of the training.